Another year of blogging

Autumn Leaves
Autumn again – time for a little reflection

It’s really easy when reading blogs to pay loads of attention to the latest post, but not go back through the older entries. This makes sense for a very news based diary-type blog, but I reckon most education-related blogs are full of still useful content all the way through.

As a result, I thought I’d just pull out some of the posts from this blog that seem to be popular. I admit that this is a lazy post, similar to one I did about 13 months ago, but I thought it might be interesting as a not-quite annual event. I’ve also added a tag cloud to the sidebar, hopefully that should make it easier to found old posts of interest.

Anyway here are the five posts with the most hits last year (Not including those on last year’s list)

  1. Back to Basics: Mini Whiteboards – It’s not all about tech, you know! These are a fantastic resource and there are some ideas here….
  2. Destination Impossible – This game from BBC Skillswise is great for teaching directions… The whole BBC Skillswise site has just be revamped and is well worth a look round – loads of English and Literacy materials for use online and in class.
  3. IATEFL – On Tech – Ok, maybe you do all love the techie stuff (goes with blogs, I guess). This is a summary of the sessions I attended at IATEFL this year on learning technology – there are a number of links and comments there. I’d also really recommend having a look around the IATEFL Brighton Online website, which has loads of videos of the talks from the conference (a number can also be downloaded as podcasts via iTunes).
  4. Authentic Materials – This post is a list of online sources of Authentic Materials for use in class – please feel free to add more in the comments section.
  5. Moodle Forums for ESOL Learners – This is a guide with ideas for how to use online forums (not just in Moodle) with your learners as well as instructions for setting up forums in Moodle.

Away from these, I should also mention my Prezi vs Powerpoint post again, as it is by far the most viewed and commented post on this blog – feel free to join in!

Before I try to think what I’m going to write about next, I’d just like to say thanks for all the comments, retweets, etc – this is the first time I’ve managed to keep a blog alive  – so Grazie Mille to all of you!

3 thoughts on “Another year of blogging

  1. Hi Phil,

    I’m glad this blog’s still alive and kicking! I really appreciate the things you say, share and your take on things. You have a really great way of explaining tools and techniques, and the write ups you have done of various conferences have been excellent.

    Here’s to another great year of blog.

    Mike =)

  2. Hi Phil,
    love your blog and have shared your resources with colleagues.
    I’ve used tech in the classroom all the time but I like the mini whiteboards and it’s great for giving the quieter learners a chance to show off their knowledge.
    Keep sharing your great ideas.

    Franca

    1. Thanks for the support and thanks for subscribing! Yes, I always worry that this blog gets a bit too tech-heavy, there are so many simple ideas (like mini whiteboards) which don’t need all-singing, all-dancing technology that can really make a difference to a class – maybe I need to explore a few more here….

      Thanks again

Leave a Reply

